How Justification by Faith Looks in the Morning

Oh Lord, your mercies are new every morning. I am a sinner. I am ashamed of yesterday, and I despair of myself. I have no freedom to be a slave to righteousness apart from you and your forgiveness. I am a slave to sin. Pay off my debts so that I might have a new master. Your Son died and was buried and rose again. Unite me to that death, burial, and resurrection, Father. The only sins you conquer in me are forgiven ones. Lord, forgive me of my sins, according to your unfailing love. There is no waiting period required for proving my worthiness or receiving confirmation of forgiveness. I am not worthy. You are always faithful to cleanse and to forgive. ‘Ask, and you will receive.’ Lord, I am asking.

Work everything out for my good, even my sin. You are a good God, and you will turn my shame into joy. You will turn my embarrassment and pride and guilt into humility and worship. Swallow me up into the joy of knowing you. To know Christ is to know the Father. He is the resurrection, the life, the bread, the living water. Oh Father, the Law shed light on my unrighteousness. Now I look away from myself. Now I look at Christ’s righteousness. He is my righteousness, my wisdom, my sanctification. I have died with him, I was buried with him, and I was raised with him.

Lord, have mercy on my wife. Help me to be merciful to her. I am no better. Help me to know her as a co-heir, and let us share the sweetness of being forgiven. Blessed are those whose lawless deeds are forgiven, and whose sins are covered! Blessed is the one against whom the Lord will not count his sin! Oh, let this overflow from our marriage to all the people groups of the world!

