A Rose is Still a Rose

If my neurology should be known
My influences shown
Temper understood
And heart exposed
A rose is still a rose
And still beautiful

If you should study sociology
And know me socio-economically
And recognize my needs
And crutches
A good friend
Is still just that

If you will fathom cosmology
And be a sage of astronomy
And understand the mysteries of all creation
And find in it intellectual elation
You are still small
And created

If you will account for my hormones
And play yourself the sexy saxophone
Analyze my stimuli
And appeal to the instinct to procreate
Love is still love
And still supernatural

If you should perceive all possible perspectives
Or see the walls of your own tunnel
Or experience a life of lies
And hypocrisy
Truth and goodness are still real, and knowable
And the light is still shining

And so

If you should slow time and watch light
Travel from flower to eye
And observe the rods and cones on a retina
And forget that the rose is beautiful
You are a fool

A rose is a rose
And beautiful
And real

